Posted on

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu -The Hardest Thing I’ve Ever Done

Gracie-Jiu-Jitsu-397

Two reasons I started learning Brazilian Jiu Jitsu.

I promised myself never to be this helpless again.  There I was stuck under my drummer as he sat on top of me and held my hands to the ground as he concluded our impromptu wrestling match after a band practice.  All red faced and embarrassed I had to verbally submit before he’d let me out.  All this took place in front of the rest of the band and a few wives.

Also, like many martial artists, my straw house was blown to ‘the ground’ the day I saw UFC 1.  Royce Gracie easily walked through the tough guys to win the mixed martial arts tournament.  I knew I had to add at least a little bit of Jiu Jitsu into my style so what did I do?  I waited 12 years!  Why?  To study music which I don’t regret one bit.  It led to my current career as a music school owner/teacher/musician.  The call of Brazilian Jiu Jitsu continued to haunt me until I finally gave in and found the nearest school.

Warrior’s Cove was conveniently located just blocks away from my place.  I won’t go into all the details but I will tell you it was three brutal years of getting my butt kicked before I felt even comfortable being there.  I somehow survived all the bruises, sore limbs, contusions, sprained this and that, and just general fatigue that goes along with training BJJ.  Our belt system goes as follows: White (noob), Gold (not so noob), Red (you got your ass kicked a lot), Blue (you can kick some ass), and Black (you can teach people to kick some ass).  I’m currently at Red w/ 2 stripes.  Yep, all these years (5 not counting the 2 years I took off to start my music school) and I’m only halfway to black.  Right now it feels like I’m lost at sea and the black belt is an island located on Pluto.  That’s why I changed my attitude, I like being where I am (although I’ll do everything possible to improve) because I’m not expected to dominate anyone so it gives me the opportunity to learn from members of all levels.  It’s a good place but I’ve decided to make the big push to higher levels of technique so that is why this blog exists.

My daily blogs won’t be so carefully thought out.  I might be so exhausted from class that I just write something like: choked dude, got choked, see ya!  Other times I’ll go into great details about my progress, training methods, and realizations.  Read and follow my journey if you want but I don’t blame you if you don’t.  I just needed to make this public to keep the pressure on myself to stay consistent.  Let’s get this going.  -Mike

About myke7777

I have a strong passion for mastering the difficult.

2 responses to “Brazilian Jiu Jitsu -The Hardest Thing I’ve Ever Done

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Kesti

    Michael…..what Drive you have! I am exhausted just from reading what you do! You don’t get those ambitious genes from me…lol.
    I am so proud of you in many areas. I think this blog is a great idea. I shall return!

Leave a Reply

